Day: February 26, 2015

Day four

Day four

Thursday 26th February 2015


Today was my fourth day of my Internship Program.

Now that I have worked three full days and it is my fourth day, I started trying to set higher goals for my task, and started to work more than expected.  I was given a task to note the product number and serial number of equipments stored in rows of shelves.  Mr.Weinberg and Mr.Ralf Jung (the owner of equipments) expected me to complete half of the task by the end of the day.  However, I finished taking down the information, started typing the information on Microsoft Excel, used a software called ‘BarTender’ to print out the information as a form of a label, and even started pasting the labels on the equipments.  I completed all of this individually, without Mr.Weinberg or Mr.Ralf Jung’s support.  From what the tasks they give me and the way they treat me, I could see that they are trusting me.  By working individually for most of the time, I learned that I can focus on the task and successfully complete a task by myself as well.

As mentioned in the previous journal entry, one can damage a product just by touching the product and letting electricity charged on your body flow into them. Although I know that I am wearing shoes and a jacket that won’t allow me to charge electricity on my body, it made me have a heightened sense of responsibility to perform.

I did not face big challenges so far.  There were some language problems when I had to use the company’s computer, as everything displayed in German, and I had to use applications I had never used before.  There were cases where most people were out of office and I had to use a translator to use the application.

Today I had a short introduction of what NPIC does and how products are tested.  I learned some basic terms that is important during the processes of testing products.  Mr.Weinberg taught me names of different parts of the testing machine, their functions and why we need them.

P1060425 P1060426 P1060427 P1060428 P1060429 P1060431 P1060432

These are photos of the testing machine.

Mr.Gerd Bleher who works at the software developing department, gave me a small presentation on how softwares are being produced and explained me the different steps in detail.  I was surprised how these steps were very similar to the MYP Design Cycle which we use in product design and digital design classes.

P1060433Mr. Gerd Bleher

My task for tomorrow will be carrying on with the work from today.  This will probably be done in the morning.  I was told that I will start programming a system, which allows one to search for an equipment, get all the information about the equipment, and update the information.  This will allow other people to continue with my work even after I leave next week.  I do not know how this system cam be made, so I will need more help tomorrow than the past three days.